PuppySpot Reviews

PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

4.6 / 5
Based on 11,669 verified reviews

11,669 Reviews

  • 5 Stars
    8,963
  • 4 Stars
    1,406
  • 3 Stars
    556
  • 2 Stars
    287
  • 1 Star
    457
02/25/2018
Rick L.
California |

Bad Experience. Unanswered questions.

I was extremely disappointed overall with my experience with Puppyspot. Their representatives did everything they possibly could to make the experience opaque and put obstacles between my wife and I and the breeder. Also, their pricing appears to be upwards of 30% higher than what breeders directly charge. This is an estimate, because they will not disclose their pricing structure to their customers. If they would simply be transparent on their pricing, then their customers could make an honest assessment of the upcharge Vs the convenience of buying a pure bred dog without waiting for a litter, which is the norm when one contacts a breeder directly. Certainly, bypassing a waiting list is a value add, however their tight lips on pricing left a bad taste in my mouth. PuppySpot flat out refused to tell us their commission. For this reason alone, we could never recommend their service. Considering that a Google search of PuppySpot?s CEO brings up troubling reports from the Humane Society regarding his former puppy adoption business, we wanted to know as much as we could about PuppySpot?s cost structure and also speak directly to our breeder to have a sense of the breeder?s operations. Simply getting on the phone with the breeder took us the better part of three weeks. When we finally did get on the phone with the breeder, PuppySpot put me on hold and called them without scheduling an appointment, they were able to get them on the line on the first try. What took five minutes dragged on for three weeks. With regard to the delivery of our pet, we had an unpleasant experience in which Puppyspot initially insisted that we drive to an airport more than 90 minutes away (each way) when we live 10 minutes from a major airport. In the end, we found a very helpful representative who was able to understand the situation and deliver our puppy to the more logical landing site. We did appreciate that employee?s efforts, though the struggle to get there was shockingly stressful to endure. I believe that PuppySpot banks on the idea that cute photos of puppies smooth over poor service. They do not. This is not a company that puts its customer first.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Rick - We were disappointed to read you have such a negative view of PuppySpot, so, upon receipt of your review we immediately began researching your experience with us. We strongly encourage constructive feedback because it both helps us improve and gives other potential community members a sense of what we are like. However, untruthful and misleading feedback, on the other hand, is neither helpful to us nor to anyone who truly relies on these reviews. While it would not be productive to highlight every misleading statement in your review, we do feel compelled to respond to several of the notable inaccuracies since not only is your stated experience the polar opposite of what the vast majority of our customers report but, after researching your interactions with us, it is clear that your feedback does not accurately reflect the full picture of what took place. First, in terms of breeder calls, we are always happy to connect customers with their puppy's breeder and, ideally, we try to schedule those calls in advance to ensure both customer and breeder are available at the same time. In your case, the biggest reason for the delay in the process was that you needed to reschedule a call at the last minute. Regardless, you spoke with the breeder before the puppy traveled, and that is because we coordinated that call. Secondly, as it relates to the price of your puppy, there is nothing mysterious about our pricing. We prominently post the puppy's price on the website for all to see. While it is possible you could have found a less expensive puppy elsewhere, the addition of a new family member is an extremely important decision and that is why we employee nearly 200 people to ensure we get it right. Our business is about far more than coordinating travel and eliminating waitlists and, as a result of the cost associated with our proprietary process and all the employees involved, we may not be the least expensive place to find your new best friend, and that is not our focus. Simply stated, there is no better place to go if you want to ensure you find a healthy puppy from a responsible source. Another complaint you raise is that our initial airport booking would have required you to drive an additional 27 miles to pick up your puppy at a bigger airport. Our team of travel agents works hard to accommodate both our customers' and breeders' travel preferences, but we are at the mercy of flight availability, airline schedules and other variables outside our control. In your case, while Burbank airport is closer to you, it is much smaller than LAX, which is serviced by more airlines and provides more flight options. That said, as you noted, while it was a challenge for us and it inconvenienced your breeder, we were able to accommodate your request and enable you to avoid the trip to LAX. Finally, the last point we feel is important to address is your reference to a report from the scandal-plagued Humane Society of The United States about a 'former adoption business' of our CEO. Perhaps you did not intentionally make up that claim and you somehow got confused when doing an online search, but we make researching our company as easy as possible by posting every customer review (like yours) on our website, in chronological order, for all to see. All that being said, another of the countless advantages of working with PuppySpot is that we always stand behind our puppies, so our team is - and will continue to be - here as a source of support should you ever need us.

02/25/2018
Cheryl M.
Virginia |

Outstanding caring organization!

This experience was one of most pleasurable, warm and professional from the very beginning to receipt of our puppy from PuppySpot. The initial contact with Aneel Paul the concierge representative was the most pleasurable, he was so warm, friendly and explained the entire process with patience. He sent us pictures of my puppy?s parents and pictures of his own puppy of the same breed. I knew nothing and had never heard of this company and was highly skeptical. However, all went well and at each stage of the process we received phone be calls emails to keep us informed. I highly recommend this service!

02/25/2018
Natasha S.
California |

PuppySpot Rocks!

The service is outstanding! from the first contact to the day the puppy arrived at our home... and beyond... the Puppy Spot representatives showed a great care and attention to every detail. Our puppy is in excellent health and very intelligent. We still cant believe we bought a puppy 'online' and what we got exceeded our expectations. Very very happy with the service and their good quality breeders. And, of course, very happy with our new family member! Thank you!!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Natasha - Thanks for the feedback and we are glad your new furry family member exceeded expectations. We really appreciate the trust you placed in us to help you fetch your newest best friend. Please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found your puppy on PuppySpot, so do not hesitate to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

02/25/2018
Ann C.
Wisconsin |

I would definitely recommend Puppy Spot for anyone...

I would definitely recommend Puppy Spot for anyone wanting to get a high quality puppy.

02/25/2018
Heidi J.
Pennsylvania |

Great! Our new puppy is great!

Puppy Spot was wonderful every step of the way--Our little Mercy came all the way from Missouri to Philadelphia and came from the airplane (though a bit scared at first) fine! She came already housebroken at three months and well trained --sits and stays-- we are amazed. And of course she loves to run and play ball! She is so beautiful and cute people in cars stop, joggers and people walking on the street all stop and exclaim about her when we are walking her. And she is very healthy! Certainly no puppy mill...any of her brothers or sisters from Precious Paws near Philadelphia --she would love to she them--

02/25/2018
Jennifer L.
Minnesota |

Thoroughly delighted! PuppySpot was great.

We were absolutely delighted with PuppySpot from the first call to the arrival of our puppy. We had been looking for quite some time for a Bernadoodle puppy and found exactly what we were looking for on their website. We called and all of our questions were answered; we received pictures of the parents, and decided go ahead! We received regular updates regarding the status of our puppy and her arrival. The travel department was amazing about rerouting her due to a snow storm and as she arrived safe and sound. Our family can't be more in love or enjoying a puppy more. I have since been in contact with the breeder and send her occasional photo updates which she appreciates. It feels really good to have that ongoing relationship as part of this. I would highly recommend PuppySpot!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Jennifer -†Thanks very much for the wonderful feedback. Your experience is what we strive for, and please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found your puppy on PuppySpot. So, you should never hesitate to reach out to us if there is ever anything we can do to help you in your puppy journey.

02/25/2018
Marynelle E.
California | Breed: Miniature Schnauzer

A very professional staff answered every question ...

A very professional staff answered every question we had and provided valuable information every step of the way. They made adding a new member to our family easy and stress free.

02/25/2018
Steve W.
Alaska |

We tried finding a puppy on our own and kept hitti...

We tried finding a puppy on our own and kept hitting roadblocks (due to the fact that we live in a remote part of Alaska).We were a little nervous at first, thinking we could get a puppy mill puppy. We are so glad that we went through PuppySpot! They made all the travel arrangements, they answered all of our questions and the kept in good contact through the whole process!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Steve - Thanks so much for trusting us to help you fetch your newest best friend.†As you have experienced in your interactions with our team, although the internet may have led you to us, with nearly 200 employees focused on our mission to make lives better by placing healthy puppies into happy homes, we are much more than a website or a service. Our relationship with you began, it did not end, when your puppy arrived, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there?s anything we can do to be helpful in the future.

02/25/2018
Pamela L.
Texas |

Perfect Poodle

PuppySpot is the way to go if you are searching for a pet with complete guidance, communication and professionalism. The entire process was very easy and my poodle came to me exactly as described and in great condition. My family is very happy with Fifi (our poodle). Thank you PuppySpot!!!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Pamela -† You are very welcome! Thanks so much for trusting us to help your family fetch your newest best friend, Fifi! We work very hard to ensure every member of our community - whether they walk on two legs or four - has a great experience and your feedback means a lot. As you know, we are here for you anytime, so please do not hesitate to reach out to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

02/24/2018
Shannon B.
California |

Happy with my PuppySpot experience!

The customers service I received from beginning to end of purchasing my wonderful puppy was so professional and efficient.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Shannon -†Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate it! And, remember, our relationship with you began, it didn't end, when we matched you with your puppy, so please reach out with any questions you have throughout your puppy parent journey.

02/24/2018
Shane C.
Nevada |

Highly recommend!

I was a little skeptical about buying a puppy online. I sent the request for information, and minutes later, Kevin from PuppySpot called me. He was a huge help, and was able to answer all of my questions. Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Gus arrived happy, and healthy, and is a perfect fit in the family.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Shane -†We really appreciate your feedback and the trust you placed in us to help you find a furry family member, Gus. As you have experienced in your interactions with our team, although the internet may have led you to us, with nearly 200 employees focused on our mission to make lives better by placing healthy puppies into happy homes, we are much more than a website. Our relationship with you began, it did not end, when your puppy arrived, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful in the future.

02/24/2018
Dolores M.
California |

I was very happy with the whole process. The only ...

I was very happy with the whole process. The only thing I didn't like was when I pick my dog out I would've liked more pictures through the process till I picked her up .Erything else was wonderful .Thank you so much .??

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Dolores - Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We understand that several pictures and a video is often not enough for prospective puppy parents anxiously waiting for the arrival of their new furry family members, which is why our team is always happy to provide more upon request. That said, we're thrilled to know your puppy arrived health and happy, which is a priority for us, and thriving in her new home. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything you need in your puppy parent journey.†

02/24/2018
Sandy J.
California |

Highly Recommend!

Everything went very smoothly. I love my puppy and the breeder is wonderful and available if I have questions.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Sandy - Thanks so much for your wonderful review and adorable videos of your newest best friend. As you've experienced, we are always happy to connect prospective puppy parents with their puppy's breeder via conference call before a puppy arrives home and more directly shortly after. Please continue to keep us posted on how everything is going and let us know if there's anything more we can do to be helpful.

02/24/2018
Randy M.
Colorado |

Puppy spot personnel were wonderful with us. Our ...

Puppy spot personnel were wonderful with us. Our only complaint was that when our puppy was set to arrive and we went to the airport to get him, he wasn't on the plane. It was a Friday evening and we were unable to find out why until the following Sunday, but that was due to the breeders lack of communication. However, the Puppyspot staff was diligent in finding out why our puppy didn't arrive and getting that information to us. The breeders made up for the miscommunication by personally flying with our puppy to deliver him to us happy and healthy. Our puppy has been nothing but pure joy since.

02/24/2018
Gary R.
New Jersey |

They were very thorough. The one thing that's anno...

They were very thorough. The one thing that's annoying is you can't speak to your original contact. I would recommend them. I did some research on the breeder and I'm little concerned it was a puppy mill. The puppy came here very loved and has adjusted beautifully.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Gary - Thanks very much for your feedback. First and foremost, PuppySpot does not, and will never, work with puppy mills and has a zero-tolerance policy for substandard breeding practices of any kind. While we can't speak to your internet research, we can tell you†that in addition to our comprehensive proprietary screening process that all members of our breeder community must pass (which results in acceptance of fewer than 10% of applicants), we stay in regular contact with our breeder community and have members of our Breeder Compliance team in the field every week of the year. We're happy that your puppy is healthy, happy and thriving in his new home. Our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful.†

02/23/2018
Debbie F.
Connecticut |

I have a wonderful, healthy puppy.

I have a wonderful, healthy new puppy. My experience with the sales representative was very positive. Working with the travel department was impersonal and very difficult to connect with.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Debbie - Thanks very much for your feedback. Our number one priority is to place healthy puppies into happy homes, and from your feedback and our customary post-arrival communications with you, that's just how your puppy arrived: healthy and happy. That said, we want to make sure you're happy, too, and we're troubled to learn that you had a negative experience with any member of our team. To that end, a dedicated member of our Customer Advocate team will be in touch with you shortly to learn more about how where we fell short of your expectations and see how we can do better in the future. Our relationship began when your puppy arrived home, so please never hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful.†

02/23/2018
Carolina A.
California |

Would buy another puppy from them agaim

Great service. They responded promptly. The breeder was amazing, my puppy arrived safe.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Carolina -†We really appreciate receiving valuable feedback from our customers. Thanks very much for your kind words and welcome to the PuppySpot family!

02/23/2018
Timothy R.
New Hampshire |

Horrible experience

Absolutely worst experience I've had purchasing a pup. Wouldn't recommend your company to anyone.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Timothy - We were shocked to read your feedback, since it is the polar opposite of the feedback we regularly receive and after reviewing your account, we understand it stemmed from your puppy's travel delays. Just as with humans, puppies' flights can be delayed for a variety of different reasons, and yours was due to extreme weather. In the best interest of your puppy's health and well being, your puppy was kenneled overnight until it was safe for him to travel to his final destination: home with you. Our team was sure to communicate updates with you in a timely manner and we understand how anxious you must have been to welcome your puppy home. From our customary post-travel communications with you, we're happy you puppy arrived healthy and happy, which is our top priority, however we want to make sure you're happy, too. To that end, a member of our dedicated customer advocate team will be in touch with you shortly to learn more and see how we can help. Our relationship has only just begun and we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

02/23/2018
Dorothy O.
Florida | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

Great experience

Everyone was exceptionally nice. The whole process was smooth. My puppy is amazing.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Dorothy -†Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with our dedicated team of dog lovers. Please continue to keep us posted on how everything is going and never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way!

02/23/2018
Kenneth F.
Oklahoma | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

wonderful

i call and all I get is a recording about how it will be a day before they respond. the dog is wonderful however

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Kenneth - We're thrilled your puppy arrived healthy and happy, as that's our top priority. That said, we want to make sure you're happy, too, and we're disappointed to learn that may not be the case. Our team works hard to thoroughly and consistently communicate with our community, and we commit to returning any missed calls within 24 hours of receipt, and as our records show, we did just that with you. In an effort to better understand how we failed to meet your expectations, a member of our dedicated Customer Advocate team was quick to reach out, learn more, and see how we can do better in the future. Our relationship began when we matched you with your puppy, so please never hesitate to reach back out if there's anything more we can do to be helpful.