PuppySpot Reviews

PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

4.6 / 5
Based on 12,853 verified reviews

12,853 Reviews

  • 5 Stars
    9,890
  • 4 Stars
    1,542
  • 3 Stars
    599
  • 2 Stars
    321
  • 1 Star
    501
04/16/2018
Francis E.
Maryland | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

I was not happy that the puppy had no information ...

I was not happy that the puppy had no information on the parents (i.e. pics weight). I have purchased German Sheppard's in the past and always received info from the breeder on the parents.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Francis - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our top priority is placing healthy puppies into happy homes, and from our customary post-arrival communications with you, we're happy to know your puppy arrived both healthy and happy. We are always happy to connect prospective puppy parents with their puppy's breeder upon request via a conference call before your puppy's arrival and more directly shortly after. While we have no record of you requesting that information for your current German Shepherd puppy, as soon as we received your review, a member of our Customer Advocate team was quick to try to get in touch with you to answer your questions about your puppy's parents. We look forward to speaking with you and we will continue to act as a source of support and guidance throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Alan M.

Screening of the breeders has to get better. My p...

Screening of the breeders has to get better. My puppy was clearly described as being neutered, I am not indicating this was unknown to me, but this was done at 8 weeks of age according to the vet certificate. My vet was aghast at this practice, it has significant negative health implications, and was done by the breeder strictly for monitory or greed reasons to ensure no additional puppies would be borne without their approval and the recipient of additional income. My puppy came complete with Bordetella and promptly transmitted it to my other dogs, which are elderly and receive routine vaccinations .

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Alan - We can assure you we thoroughly screen every breeder who joins our network, so much so, that only 10% of applicants are invited to become part of the PuppySpot community. Your puppy was neutered after 8 weeks of age, which is a perfectly safe practice and was not done to stifle your monetary gain, but rather to ensure responsible pet ownership. PuppySpot places puppies for companionship only, and some of our breeders prefer to spay or neuter their puppies before they join a new home. The decision as to what age to spay or neuter a puppy is a personal one, and as you stated in your feedback, we notified you that your puppy had already undergone the procedure, and you raised no issue with it at the time. Had we known this was a concern for you, we would have gladly found you a new puppy or cancelled your placement refunded you in full. We were surprised to learn your puppy came down with a case of kennel cough shortly after arriving home, as both his pre- and post-arrival nose-to-tail health examinations performed by two separate licensed veterinarians (the latter of which was your own vet) did not indicate he was anything other than 100% healthy. Unfortunately, as living, breathing beings, puppies sometimes get sick, which is why we provide lifetime support and industry-leading health guarantee. While you declined any additional help when our team reached out to learn more, please know that we will continue to be here for you throughout your puppy parent journey and encourage you to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Lara C.
Texas | Breed: Goldendoodle

Not your best experience

Hello, allow me to start by saying it is unfair to rate the overall experience, as if you have purchased your beloved furry from puppyspot you already know that there's many departments to go through and they are in a way,independent. so I will rate them separately, so read till the end. PURCHASE experience, since you make the call till you PAY, a top notch attention, (Richard Turner) and I am mentioning his name because he played a positive roll later, was the best that you can have to assist you so yes a FIVE stars goes to that department. AFTER the payment has been done, well if I can give a NEGATIVE FIVE I would not hesitate, it was the worst experience ever, get someone to answer your call or call you back after you have left many messages that would be like winning the lottery, so in that time all the bad ideas will come to your mind, was it a scam is this it? they took the money and bye bye...well that went on for two weeks till I decided to call from another phone that is not my number, and I am not sure if that is a coincidence but the call got answered on the first attempt, and not to bore you with many details, I was able magically to get to talk to RICHARD again, and he promised to get to the department that handles the communication with the breeder and get back to me with all the answers, and sure thing he did and he called me personally to make sure that they had contacted me, after he left them numerous requests. TRAVEL DEPARTMENT: well here just remembering my heart aches again on the miserable emotional state of the puppy when he arrived.this is not even to be rated. we are talking about an 8 weeks puppy, been sent on a flight with a connection from Ohio to Texas , I knew the weather was not the best in February, I called to check with the airline and they told me about the flights that are scheduled to leave the area, I called travel department and asked them to send the puppy on the midday flight which will arrive to Texas in about 7 hours with connection (we are talking same airline same everything just a later flight and I had confirmed with the airline that it is the same cost for transportation on the earlier or later flight, anyway that did not happen, puppy been dropped for his flight sometimes between 8 and 9 am Cleveland OHIO time, received him in TEXAS at 7:30 pm,(that with the time difference is a total of 12 hours) shivering scared hungry had not even 1 drop of water, the state of his crate was miserable, smelling like drainage canal, the worst of the worst situations (this is a pup that been separated from his liter for the first time to get into such travel experience, who ever arranged that travel is a heartless cruel person, they charge a lot of money definitely the most expensive place to buy a pup you could make the travel an easier experience). So where did that leaves us? the family receiving the puppy? in a nightmare of adjustment period, for the first 2 nights I slept the puppy in my lap, if by accident he would see the crate has been sent in he starts shaking again and cries and cries. had to shower him 3 times to get him cleaned, he definitely wasn't familiarized with people or leash or going out to do his business he came from a barn to us, like if I bought him from his mom's dog not from a responsible breeder. and NOW the best part VET department: here it was a big fail so 1 star just because I actually did receive the papers but well a mess of a papers. Our puppy papers arrived so messy, in one document he is RED, in another he is Buff, in one his name is correct in another he is named something else....and so go on, we asked to pay for him to be Chipped and sure he wasn't, and after many phone calls and Vet visits we were able to get the issue fixed, (my vet wouldn't agree to put the vaccines till he confirms that the papers actually belongs to my pup). in this department I would like to thank WAYNESHA for all her attentions and all she did to clear things up, she also made sure they reimburse me for the chipping that I did at my vet clinic.so for the way she handled it I would give her the 5 stars (Thanks Waynesha) Health Wise: my pup stool was loose he had stomach issues, we had to put him on antibiotic to get him to feel better, we have experienced many vomit periods had to go through many vet visits to get that under control, so yes I would advice puppy spot to take this breeder off their list or make sure he would guarantee a quality pups and service. so in an overall do not expect the service for what you pay, I guess having a pet from a farm won't give any difference.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Lara - We are disappointed to learn you have such a negative view about your experience with PuppySpot, as that is never how we want any member of our community feel after welcoming home a new furry family member. While we don't believe it is productive to publicly address every point in your feedback, we are shocked to learn your puppy wasn't feeling well shortly after arriving, as you made no mention of it to our team, nor do we have any documentation on file from you or your veterinarian that would suggest your puppy wasn't feeling well or experienced any behavioral issues. A member of our team has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more about your experience and see where we fell short of your expectations, and we look forward to connecting with you soon. Our relationship began when we matched you with your puppy and despite your frustrating experience, our team will continue to be here as you need us.

04/15/2018
Michael W.
New York | Breed: Pomsky

Highly Recommended

They were really great communicators from start to finish. Really caring and showed great follow up with the whole process. I love my lil buddy. Can't imagine not having him.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Michael - We care deeply about every member of our community, whether they walk on two legs or four, so your feedback means a lot. As you know, we are here for you anytime, so please do not hesitate to reach out to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

04/15/2018
Rosanne H.
Illinois | Breed: Boston Terrier

Excellent from beginning to end.

My overall experience with PuppySpot was excellent. I would definitely use them in the future and recommend them to my friends and family.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Rosanne - We strive to provide our community with just the experience you described in your review and it means a lot that you'd recommend us to others. Remember, our relationship with you began, it didn't end, when we matched you with your puppy, so please reach out with any questions you have throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Margaret S.
Georgia |

Puppy Spot is HORRIBLE

If I could give them a negative 1000 I would. They sold me a mutilated puppy and refuse to contact me to resolve the problem. The breeder and this company should be blocked from selling puppies to trusting people, like myself.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Margaret - We are shocked by your feedback. First and foremost, you were not sent a "mutilated" puppy. According to the pre- and post-arrival nose-to-tail health examinations performed by licensed veterinarians (the latter of which was performed by your own vet), your puppy arrived healthy and happy and with a docked tail. We understand that you were unhappy and surprised to find your puppy's tail was docked. This should have been disclosed to you before your puppy traveled home and we're sorry that it was not. Several members of our team have been working with you to better understand your concerns and see how we can make it right and after many conversations, you have decided to keep your puppy. Given that, our team will continue to be here as a source of support and guidance throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Margarita R.
New Jersey | Breed: Shih Tzu

I'm very happy with my new companion.

Yes I would recommend and use it again. They showed concern and were very professional.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Margarita -Thank you for sharing your experience with PuppySpot! As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Deanna L.
Texas | Breed: Australian Shepherd

Trustful Puppy Concierge and I Love My New Puppy

Best service I've ever had with buying a dog. I did so much research on my own that when it came down to actually buying a puppy, I personally trusted the puppy spot concierge and thought the way we communicated was a trustful way to communicate.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Deanna - Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback and trust you placed in us to help you find the right puppy for your home. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything we can do to be helpful!

04/15/2018
Wilfred L.
Connecticut |

Extremely happy with the new special little family...

Extremely happy with the new special little family member. Adapting well and breeders input very helpful. PuppySpot was great in getting the whole process coordinated.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Wilfred - Thank you for sharing your experience with PuppySpot! As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Wendy G.
Texas | Breed: French Bulldog

I love my puppy. I did feel when there were some h...

I love my puppy. I did feel when there were some hiccups in the process, I didn't receive communications unless I called multiple times, which was stressful. Some of those I spoke with were very nice and helpful, and others were not.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Wendy - Our number one priority is to place healthy puppies into happy homes and from our customary follow up communications shortly after your puppy traveled home to you, is just how she arrived. We never want any member of our community to have difficulty getting in touch with our team and we're disappointed to learn that may have been the case for you at any point in your experience. To that end, a member of our team will be in touch with you shortly to learn more and see how we can do better in the future. Your relationship with us began, it did not end, when we matched you with your puppy and we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Virginia S.
Indiana |

After we bought our puppy they could not get him t...

After we bought our puppy they could not get him to us as the breeder was going to be out of town for a week so we had to wait an extra week. Puppy spot called us to let us know and sent some newer pictures to help decrease the anxiety. It worked! Communication was excellent. Our puppy arrived in great condition and on time and I have but Kudos for the staff at Puppy Spot!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Virginia - Thanks for trusting us to help you fetch your newest best friend! We know how exciting it is to welcome home a furry family member, so we appreciate your flexibility around your puppy's breeder's schedule. We're thrilled that your puppy is thriving in his new home and look forward to continuing our relationship!

04/15/2018
Kelan M.
California |

I loved the whole experience... would buy from pup...

I loved the whole experience... would buy from puppysopt again

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Kelan - We work hard to make finding a furry family both an easy and joyful experience, so your feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please let us know how we can be helpful in your puppy journey.

04/15/2018
Paul S.
South Carolina | Breed: Akita

Puppy Spot did follow up but offered NO solutions ...

Puppy Spot did follow up but offered NO solutions for this $4K akita puppy who came malnourished at eight weeks weighing twelve pounds and continually sat in his own pee. This was not a $4K experience. Breeder has not provided any AKC lineage or registration papers. I would not recommend this breeder to anyone.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Paul - We are truly confused by your feedback, as it is not only the exact opposite of the experience we strive to provide our community, but also varies greatly from what we found when we went back to review our extensive written and recorded records. Your puppy, like all PuppySpot puppies, underwent two mandated nose-to-tail health examinations performed by two different licensed veterinarians: one before he traveled home to you and another shortly after. The latter was performed by your own vet. Neither report indicated your puppy was malnourished or underweight. That said, you were right to reach out to us when you thought there may be a problem, as that's exactly why we offer each and every member of our community lifetime support. Several members of our team have been working with you since to understand your concerns and see how we can help and we're happy to report that your puppy is thriving in his new home, bonding with his human and furry family members. You joined a community when your puppy arrived home and our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way.

04/15/2018
Ryan W.
New York |

Friendly and available...

Friendly and available

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Ryan -Thanks very much for your feedback and welcome to the PuppySpot community!

04/15/2018
Adam B.
Texas |

I was on the fence deciding if I wanted to get ano...

I was on the fence deciding if I wanted to get another dog after my last one pasted. They had some I was interested and helped me to decide and get off that fence. The process was very easy and they were very helpful. I wanted to invest in a good dog with a great pedigree and it ended up being the perfect one. They connected me with the breeder beforehand which was nice. I couldn't of asked for a better experience. He fits right in with my life.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Adam - Thanks so much for trusting us to help you find a new furry family member. We know how hard it is losing a furry best friend and we're honored to help you add to your homeWe are here for you as a resource anytime, so please keep us posted on how everything is going and do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there is anything we can do to help.

04/14/2018
Christie M.
Iowa |

Friendly and professional Found the puppy I wan...

Friendly and professional Found the puppy I wanted. Information and details about purchase, shipping, vet, travel, etc were precise. Communication and follow up was great. Puppy arrived on time with all documents. Love Him Thank You

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Christie - You are very welcome! We take great pride in matching prospective puppy parents with the right furry family member, so your feedback is appreciated. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything more we can do to be helpful.

04/14/2018
Natalie D.
New York | Breed: Maltipoo

Great dog, great customer service

PuppySpot impressed me that they were ready to answer my every question or concern and conferenced in the breeder who told me that PuppySpot inspected her home.

04/14/2018
Marilyn E G.
Oregon | Breed: Labradoodle

Salty St Peter

I am so grateful to have found such a unique way to find a new forever addition to our furry family! The folks at PuppySpot are kind, professional, attentive, informative and personable. Everyone I worked with from start to finish is a delight. Thank you! Peter the Labradoodle is growing fast and having a blast! We just graduated our first puppy training class, and finished with all our regular shots. He's one happy puppy! Thank you PuppySpot!

04/14/2018
Thomas S.
Maryland |

Amazing Company!

The customer service at this company is absolutely amazing. I rank them up right next to Amazon customer service. Very polite, helpful, and extremely responsive. I will use puppyspot again in a heartbeat if we decide to get another puppy!

04/14/2018
John L.
Maine | Breed: Labrador Retriever

Bought a chocolate lab , ended up with a silver lab.

Give the buyer more info up front, not after the sale, and send them the puppy they bought, not some other color.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

John - We're truly confused by your feedback, as our team works hard to communicate clearly with our community. We understand you were disappointed when your puppy's coat started to turn silver. Your puppy was clearly marked as silver on our site when you selected him and it is not uncommon for a puppy's coat to change as he grows. We cannot guarantee the color or texture of a puppy's coat, as they are living, breathing beings. We do, however, go above and beyond to make sure our puppies are healthy and happy, and from our customary post-arrival communications with you is just how your puppy arrived: happy and healthy. A member of our team has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more and see how we can clear up your concerns about your puppy's coat color. Our relationship began when your puppy arrived home and we will continue to be here as a source of support as you need us in your puppy parent journey.