PuppySpot Reviews

PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

4.6 / 5
Based on 13,400 verified reviews

13,400 Reviews

  • 5 Stars
    10,327
  • 4 Stars
    1,608
  • 3 Stars
    623
  • 2 Stars
    329
  • 1 Stars
    513
04/16/2018
Marcia E.
Texas | Breed: Dachshund

They so easy to work with!...

They so easy to work with!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Marcia - Thanks very much for your feedback and welcome to the PuppySpot community!

04/16/2018
Jason M.
Missouri | Breed: Chihuahua

Bradley Diamond or representative for PuppySpot ha...

Bradley Diamond or representative for PuppySpot has done an awesome done throughout our entire process of getting our little man Dexter. He walked through our entire process with no stress or pressure. We lost our beloved 14yr old chihuahua Princess a month ago and we have had a great experience with PuppySpot with getting our new little man Dexter. He has had a small cough since we purchased him and PuppySpot has been wonderful on checking in with us on getting him better and reimbursing is on our small vet bill.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

sJason - Thank you very much for your feedback. We will make sure to relay your kind words back to Bradley. We're very sorry for your recent loss. As dog lovers ourselves, we understand how difficult it is to lose a furry family member and we appreciate you trusting us to help you find a new one. While we know that Princess would never be replaced, it was our pleasure to be able to match you with your puppy, Dexter. As soon as you notified us of Dexter's cough, a member of our Customer Advocate team was quick to reach out to try to understand your situation and see how we could help. As living breathing beings, as unfortunate as it is, puppies sometimes get sick, which is why we also have a dedicated Health Team to help resolve any issues our customers may have. From our recent communications with you, we are thrilled to report back that Dexter is doing much better and thriving in his new forever home. We will continue to act as a source of support and guidance not only until he makes full recovery, but throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/16/2018
Barbara T.
California |

We love our little Mia!

I was initially wary of purchasing a dog through an online service but after continually striking out with local breeders for one reason or another, I decided to look into PuppySpot further. Being able to search through the available puppies with my given parameters (breed, sex, age, color, etc.) was very helpful and made the search fun. One of the filters I used was only viewing the puppies with videos because I felt it was important to be able to see the puppy move about in it's environment. After identifying some puppy candidates, I spoke with the puppy concierge, Brad. Brad was very helpful, patient and answered all of my questions. I did get one wrong item of information from Brad (discovered later and kind of an important issue) that is what has led to the 4 star review. One of my search filters was "champion bloodlines". I asked specifically if the mom and dad were champions and was told yes only to find out when I received the AKC registration/genealogy after we had the puppy that they were not. There were some champions in the genealogy but it wasn't mom and dad. Another issue with incorrect information (not from Brad but another representative) was that I would be receiving enough of my puppy's current food to be able to transition into a new food gradually. There was only perhaps a one or two day amount of her current food and unfortunately, the current food was not able to be purchased in any local pet stores or online. (It had a somewhat limited geographic distribution and not sold anywhere in California where we live.) So I had to change her food "cold turkey". Other than those two issues, everything else was great. Communication was often and proactive and if they didn't have the answer to a question, they got it and responded quickly. The website and newsletters have been very helpful with all you need to know about training and behavioral issues. I was concerned about such a young puppy being shipped by air and additionally concerned because she was arriving on United Airlines a day after the pet tragedy on United but was reassured that everything would be fine. She arrived in good condition (a little wet because it had been a long travel day with a connection and a delayed flight) but she seemed OK. All in all, I felt the experience was a really good one and would recommend PuppySpot (and actually have already.) The only difference with purchasing through a local breeder is not being able to see the puppy interacting with the rest of the litter. I discovered my little Mia had a, shall I say, dominant personality which would have been more evident ahead of time when comparing to her siblings but we love her dearly! She's absolutely beautiful! I would definitely use PuppySpot again.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Barbara - Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we will make sure that Brad receives the compliment you have included in your review! While we are very glad that you found your puppy search experience fun and helpful with PuppySpot, we are truly sorry for any confusion surrounding your puppy's lineage and current feeding schedule. Regarding your puppy's bloodline, just like how it was described in your review, your puppy has a champion lineage, which extended past her mother and father. That said, a member of our Customer Advocate team was quick to reach out to you to clarify and answer any questions you had. We are very happy to hear from our customary post-arrival communications with you, and your review, that Mia arrived happy and healthy, and is thriving in her new forever home. Our relationship has just begun, it did not end, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything you ever need throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/16/2018
Annie Marie H.
Florida |

Love my brother and sister Mini-Goldendoodles

Lots to include communication and courteous service!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Annie Marie -Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're thrilled that you trusted us for not one, but multiple new family members. As you've experienced, we're here as a resource for you anytime, so please keep us posted on how everything is going and do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there is anything we can do to be helpful.

04/16/2018
Zandra J.
Maryland | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

Initial Interaction

my initial interaction was pretty good. I like how they were informative, called often, and kept me up to date. It went downhill when i had to deal with Community Finance which basically left me with a sour taste.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Zandra - Thanks very much for your feedback and while we're happy to know your puppy arrived healthy and happy (our number one priority), we're troubled to learn you had a negative experience with Community Finance. A member of our Customer Advocate team will be in touch with you shortly to learn more and see how we can help. Our relationship has only just begun, so please never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way.

04/16/2018
Patty R.
Tennessee |

Chris rocks, I have the best puppy ever.

Chris walked me through the whole process of getting my puppy, Mikey, he explained in detail all of what I was preparing to do. He answered all my questions and encourage me to proceed ahead, even though I was nervous about doing an online puppy. My puppy arrived exactly as he said it would and I am a very happy puppy mommy. Thank you again for being there for me. I have a beautiful puppy

04/16/2018
Cindy G.
New Mexico | Breed: Cocker Spaniel

Misleading, information with holding, misrepresentation. 10 years warrante

The entire experience has been bad. I was told that they had excellent customer service when in fact there is none. Called for information on what the puppy I received had been eating. No call back. Told there would be hand holding through the registration of the puppy, when in fact the breeder put a stipulation on the puppy that only he could be registered but none of his off spring could be. I would not have purchased from this breeder if this information would have been provided by puppy spot. I have made multiple calls to 2 puppy spot employees with no return calls. Have sent text to the breeder seeking explanation for lifting the stipulation. No returned call or text. Looked online at pictures of his sisters, did get a call from Fort Lauderdale Florida from a puppy spot employee seeking to sell me one of his sisters when I was merely checking to see if they had been sold as well. Total miserable experience. Paid $300 that was not told about for the shipping of the puppy as well as the vet check that was purported to have been either provided by puppy spot or the breeder. I paid over $3,000 for a pound puppy that I cannot return because my non verbal severely autistic son is attachekdk to. Will seek whatever means possible for restitution in this matter. Advise all buyer beware, if you are expecting to register your puppy seek paperwork in advance. Do not take the word of puppy spot. You will be miserably disappointed.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Cindy - We are disappointed to learn that you have such a negative view of your PuppySpot experience. We never want any member of our community to have difficulty getting in touch with our team and we're truly sorry to learn that may have been the case for you at any point in your experience. Regarding the registration of your puppy, we are very transparent about offering prospective puppy parents with companion registration, as we were with you before you selected your puppy, which inhibits your ability to breed your PuppySpot puppy. Our puppies are meant as companion pets only and we believe that this practice supports our mission to encourage responsible pet ownership. When you inquired with our team about the litter-mates of your puppy, you stated clearly that you were seeking for a companion for him, so we are surprised to hear otherwise. t's also important to note that PuppySpot's $299 flat-rate travel fee covers more than just the cost of your puppy's flight, and includes your puppy's regulation-sized travel carrier and health certificate required by both PuppySpot and the airlines for your puppy to travel. Again, we are transparent with and what the cost entails, however we do sincerely apologize if it wasn't as clear at any point. To that end, our team has been trying to reach out to you both by phone and via email to discuss your experience and more importantly to see how we could help in any way that we can. Your relationship with us began when we matched you with your puppy and we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/16/2018
Francis E.
Maryland | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

I was not happy that the puppy had no information ...

I was not happy that the puppy had no information on the parents (i.e. pics weight). I have purchased German Sheppard's in the past and always received info from the breeder on the parents.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Francis - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our top priority is placing healthy puppies into happy homes, and from our customary post-arrival communications with you, we're happy to know your puppy arrived both healthy and happy. We are always happy to connect prospective puppy parents with their puppy's breeder upon request via a conference call before your puppy's arrival and more directly shortly after. While we have no record of you requesting that information for your current German Shepherd puppy, as soon as we received your review, a member of our Customer Advocate team was quick to try to get in touch with you to answer your questions about your puppy's parents. We look forward to speaking with you and we will continue to act as a source of support and guidance throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Alan M.

Screening of the breeders has to get better. My p...

Screening of the breeders has to get better. My puppy was clearly described as being neutered, I am not indicating this was unknown to me, but this was done at 8 weeks of age according to the vet certificate. My vet was aghast at this practice, it has significant negative health implications, and was done by the breeder strictly for monitory or greed reasons to ensure no additional puppies would be borne without their approval and the recipient of additional income. My puppy came complete with Bordetella and promptly transmitted it to my other dogs, which are elderly and receive routine vaccinations .

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Alan - We can assure you we thoroughly screen every breeder who joins our network, so much so, that only 10% of applicants are invited to become part of the PuppySpot community. Your puppy was neutered after 8 weeks of age, which is a perfectly safe practice and was not done to stifle your monetary gain, but rather to ensure responsible pet ownership. PuppySpot places puppies for companionship only, and some of our breeders prefer to spay or neuter their puppies before they join a new home. The decision as to what age to spay or neuter a puppy is a personal one, and as you stated in your feedback, we notified you that your puppy had already undergone the procedure, and you raised no issue with it at the time. Had we known this was a concern for you, we would have gladly found you a new puppy or cancelled your placement refunded you in full. We were surprised to learn your puppy came down with a case of kennel cough shortly after arriving home, as both his pre- and post-arrival nose-to-tail health examinations performed by two separate licensed veterinarians (the latter of which was your own vet) did not indicate he was anything other than 100% healthy. Unfortunately, as living, breathing beings, puppies sometimes get sick, which is why we provide lifetime support and industry-leading health guarantee. While you declined any additional help when our team reached out to learn more, please know that we will continue to be here for you throughout your puppy parent journey and encourage you to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Lara C.
Texas | Breed: Goldendoodle

Not your best experience

Hello, allow me to start by saying it is unfair to rate the overall experience, as if you have purchased your beloved furry from puppyspot you already know that there's many departments to go through and they are in a way,independent. so I will rate them separately, so read till the end. PURCHASE experience, since you make the call till you PAY, a top notch attention, (Richard Turner) and I am mentioning his name because he played a positive roll later, was the best that you can have to assist you so yes a FIVE stars goes to that department. AFTER the payment has been done, well if I can give a NEGATIVE FIVE I would not hesitate, it was the worst experience ever, get someone to answer your call or call you back after you have left many messages that would be like winning the lottery, so in that time all the bad ideas will come to your mind, was it a scam is this it? they took the money and bye bye...well that went on for two weeks till I decided to call from another phone that is not my number, and I am not sure if that is a coincidence but the call got answered on the first attempt, and not to bore you with many details, I was able magically to get to talk to RICHARD again, and he promised to get to the department that handles the communication with the breeder and get back to me with all the answers, and sure thing he did and he called me personally to make sure that they had contacted me, after he left them numerous requests. TRAVEL DEPARTMENT: well here just remembering my heart aches again on the miserable emotional state of the puppy when he arrived.this is not even to be rated. we are talking about an 8 weeks puppy, been sent on a flight with a connection from Ohio to Texas , I knew the weather was not the best in February, I called to check with the airline and they told me about the flights that are scheduled to leave the area, I called travel department and asked them to send the puppy on the midday flight which will arrive to Texas in about 7 hours with connection (we are talking same airline same everything just a later flight and I had confirmed with the airline that it is the same cost for transportation on the earlier or later flight, anyway that did not happen, puppy been dropped for his flight sometimes between 8 and 9 am Cleveland OHIO time, received him in TEXAS at 7:30 pm,(that with the time difference is a total of 12 hours) shivering scared hungry had not even 1 drop of water, the state of his crate was miserable, smelling like drainage canal, the worst of the worst situations (this is a pup that been separated from his liter for the first time to get into such travel experience, who ever arranged that travel is a heartless cruel person, they charge a lot of money definitely the most expensive place to buy a pup you could make the travel an easier experience). So where did that leaves us? the family receiving the puppy? in a nightmare of adjustment period, for the first 2 nights I slept the puppy in my lap, if by accident he would see the crate has been sent in he starts shaking again and cries and cries. had to shower him 3 times to get him cleaned, he definitely wasn't familiarized with people or leash or going out to do his business he came from a barn to us, like if I bought him from his mom's dog not from a responsible breeder. and NOW the best part VET department: here it was a big fail so 1 star just because I actually did receive the papers but well a mess of a papers. Our puppy papers arrived so messy, in one document he is RED, in another he is Buff, in one his name is correct in another he is named something else....and so go on, we asked to pay for him to be Chipped and sure he wasn't, and after many phone calls and Vet visits we were able to get the issue fixed, (my vet wouldn't agree to put the vaccines till he confirms that the papers actually belongs to my pup). in this department I would like to thank WAYNESHA for all her attentions and all she did to clear things up, she also made sure they reimburse me for the chipping that I did at my vet clinic.so for the way she handled it I would give her the 5 stars (Thanks Waynesha) Health Wise: my pup stool was loose he had stomach issues, we had to put him on antibiotic to get him to feel better, we have experienced many vomit periods had to go through many vet visits to get that under control, so yes I would advice puppy spot to take this breeder off their list or make sure he would guarantee a quality pups and service. so in an overall do not expect the service for what you pay, I guess having a pet from a farm won't give any difference.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Lara - We are disappointed to learn you have such a negative view about your experience with PuppySpot, as that is never how we want any member of our community feel after welcoming home a new furry family member. While we don't believe it is productive to publicly address every point in your feedback, we are shocked to learn your puppy wasn't feeling well shortly after arriving, as you made no mention of it to our team, nor do we have any documentation on file from you or your veterinarian that would suggest your puppy wasn't feeling well or experienced any behavioral issues. A member of our team has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more about your experience and see where we fell short of your expectations, and we look forward to connecting with you soon. Our relationship began when we matched you with your puppy and despite your frustrating experience, our team will continue to be here as you need us.

04/15/2018
Michael W.
New York | Breed: Pomsky

Highly Recommended

They were really great communicators from start to finish. Really caring and showed great follow up with the whole process. I love my lil buddy. Can't imagine not having him.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Michael - We care deeply about every member of our community, whether they walk on two legs or four, so your feedback means a lot. As you know, we are here for you anytime, so please do not hesitate to reach out to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

04/15/2018
Rosanne H.
Illinois | Breed: Boston Terrier

Excellent from beginning to end.

My overall experience with PuppySpot was excellent. I would definitely use them in the future and recommend them to my friends and family.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Rosanne - We strive to provide our community with just the experience you described in your review and it means a lot that you'd recommend us to others. Remember, our relationship with you began, it didn't end, when we matched you with your puppy, so please reach out with any questions you have throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Margaret S.
Georgia |

Puppy Spot is HORRIBLE

If I could give them a negative 1000 I would. They sold me a mutilated puppy and refuse to contact me to resolve the problem. The breeder and this company should be blocked from selling puppies to trusting people, like myself.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Margaret - We are shocked by your feedback. First and foremost, you were not sent a "mutilated" puppy. According to the pre- and post-arrival nose-to-tail health examinations performed by licensed veterinarians (the latter of which was performed by your own vet), your puppy arrived healthy and happy and with a docked tail. We understand that you were unhappy and surprised to find your puppy's tail was docked. This should have been disclosed to you before your puppy traveled home and we're sorry that it was not. Several members of our team have been working with you to better understand your concerns and see how we can make it right and after many conversations, you have decided to keep your puppy. Given that, our team will continue to be here as a source of support and guidance throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Margarita R.
New Jersey | Breed: Shih Tzu

I'm very happy with my new companion.

Yes I would recommend and use it again. They showed concern and were very professional.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Margarita -Thank you for sharing your experience with PuppySpot! As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Deanna L.
Texas | Breed: Australian Shepherd

Trustful Puppy Concierge and I Love My New Puppy

Best service I've ever had with buying a dog. I did so much research on my own that when it came down to actually buying a puppy, I personally trusted the puppy spot concierge and thought the way we communicated was a trustful way to communicate.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Deanna - Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback and trust you placed in us to help you find the right puppy for your home. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything we can do to be helpful!

04/15/2018
Wilfred L.
Connecticut |

Extremely happy with the new special little family...

Extremely happy with the new special little family member. Adapting well and breeders input very helpful. PuppySpot was great in getting the whole process coordinated.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Wilfred - Thank you for sharing your experience with PuppySpot! As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.

04/15/2018
Wendy G.
Texas | Breed: French Bulldog

I love my puppy. I did feel when there were some h...

I love my puppy. I did feel when there were some hiccups in the process, I didn't receive communications unless I called multiple times, which was stressful. Some of those I spoke with were very nice and helpful, and others were not.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Wendy - Our number one priority is to place healthy puppies into happy homes and from our customary follow up communications shortly after your puppy traveled home to you, is just how she arrived. We never want any member of our community to have difficulty getting in touch with our team and we're disappointed to learn that may have been the case for you at any point in your experience. To that end, a member of our team will be in touch with you shortly to learn more and see how we can do better in the future. Your relationship with us began, it did not end, when we matched you with your puppy and we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

04/15/2018
Virginia S.
Indiana |

After we bought our puppy they could not get him t...

After we bought our puppy they could not get him to us as the breeder was going to be out of town for a week so we had to wait an extra week. Puppy spot called us to let us know and sent some newer pictures to help decrease the anxiety. It worked! Communication was excellent. Our puppy arrived in great condition and on time and I have but Kudos for the staff at Puppy Spot!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Virginia - Thanks for trusting us to help you fetch your newest best friend! We know how exciting it is to welcome home a furry family member, so we appreciate your flexibility around your puppy's breeder's schedule. We're thrilled that your puppy is thriving in his new home and look forward to continuing our relationship!

04/15/2018
Kelan M.
California |

I loved the whole experience... would buy from pup...

I loved the whole experience... would buy from puppysopt again

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Kelan - We work hard to make finding a furry family both an easy and joyful experience, so your feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please let us know how we can be helpful in your puppy journey.

04/15/2018
Paul S.
South Carolina | Breed: Akita

Puppy Spot did follow up but offered NO solutions ...

Puppy Spot did follow up but offered NO solutions for this $4K akita puppy who came malnourished at eight weeks weighing twelve pounds and continually sat in his own pee. This was not a $4K experience. Breeder has not provided any AKC lineage or registration papers. I would not recommend this breeder to anyone.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Paul - We are truly confused by your feedback, as it is not only the exact opposite of the experience we strive to provide our community, but also varies greatly from what we found when we went back to review our extensive written and recorded records. Your puppy, like all PuppySpot puppies, underwent two mandated nose-to-tail health examinations performed by two different licensed veterinarians: one before he traveled home to you and another shortly after. The latter was performed by your own vet. Neither report indicated your puppy was malnourished or underweight. That said, you were right to reach out to us when you thought there may be a problem, as that's exactly why we offer each and every member of our community lifetime support. Several members of our team have been working with you since to understand your concerns and see how we can help and we're happy to report that your puppy is thriving in his new home, bonding with his human and furry family members. You joined a community when your puppy arrived home and our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way.