X

      PuppySpot Reviews

      PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
      Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

      4.6 / 5
      Based on 9,219 verified reviews

      9,219 Reviews

      • 5 Stars
        7,211
      • 4 Stars
        1,060
      • 3 Stars
        420
      • 2 Stars
        213
      • 1 Star
        315
      03/30/2018
      Karen W.
      North Carolina | Breed: Bulldog

      Thank you PuppySpot!

      I was very skeptical when I seen that our dog was in another state and we had to order him online. From the very beginning of my interest, PuppySpot was there with me to the very end of the process. They answered any questions that I had all along the process. They sent pictures of mom and dad and much more information about receiving our puppy. PuppySpot went above and beyond my apprehensions and I was very pleased with them and the process. Our dog is wonderful and the breeder that our dog came from was Top Notch. Our puppy, Jack, has been a great addition to our family!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Karen - We believe welcoming home a puppy shouldn't be full of mystery and compromise, which is why we do all of the work for you, so you can focus on what really matters: welcoming home your new furry family member. We're thrilled your puppy is doing so well and look forward to more 'pupdates' in the future!

      03/30/2018
      Kathy T.
      New Hampshire | Breed: Pomeranian

      They did everything right

      Everything was right the call everthing

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Kathy - Thanks very much for your feedback and pictures of your newest furry family member. Our team will continue to be here as you need us, so please let us know if we can be helpful in any way.†

      03/29/2018
      Nicolas H.
      Arizona | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

      Never again!

      My wife and I had a shared dream of someday having an all black German Shepherd. Not an easy thing to find, but while searching online for breeders my wife came across PuppySpot. Sure enough, in their listings they had just the breed and color of dog we wanted. She submitted her info on the website asking to be contacted. That same afternoon, a man by the name of Paul, who referred to himself as a puppy concierge, called and gave her lots of info on the puppy, the breeder, and PuppySpot. He came across as extremely knowledgeable, genuine, and seemed to be truly interested in connecting us with the right dog. We called Paul back once or twice to ask follow up questions and he answered immediately. He said to call him, day or night, if we needed anything as we thought about the purchase. After some back and forth discussion my wife and I decided to buy the puppy. Paul was very informative about the puppy travel process and what we should expect. After paying and hanging up the phone, Paul opened up an email dialogue with us and worked to help schedule our puppy's arrival date. All seemed to be going perfectly, and our puppy was scheduled to arrive the evening of Friday, January 5th. We anxiously awaited the few days in between, receiving a few form emails with more info about what to do when the puppy arrived. The night he arrived, we were thrilled. He was the cutest! We got him home, set him up with a new bed, make sure he got some food and water, etc. He was only 2 months old and obviously not yet house broken, plus he had been on a long flight from Tennessee, so it wasn't too surprising that he had an accident in the house. No big deal, right? Except, to our horror, his feces was absolutely ALIVE with worms! Wriggling, white worms larger than a grain of rice. My wife immediately sent an email to Paul, and I called his number. For the first time, he didn't answer the phone instantly. Instead, I left a message. We heard nothing that night, and went to bed feeling very stressed and sad. Rather than getting to enjoy our first night with our new puppy we had to kennel him all night to quarantine him. We had already made a vet appointment for the following Monday, January 8th, in keeping with the requirement that the puppies be examined within 3 business days of arrival. However, as soon as the vet's office opened the following day, Saturday the 6th, I called them to let them know what we had found. They asked me to drop off a fecal sample so it could be tested and we?d get the results at our Monday appointment. Then I took him for his first daytime walk. He spent most it stopping to scratch. I decided, before going back into my house, while out in the bright light, to look at him more closely. Since he is all black, and his skin is hard to see through his thick coat, I rolled him over on his back and within literally 2 seconds I saw an adult FLEA run across his stomach! I called the vet back immediately and asked about flea medication. They were able to sell me a dose of Bravecto that day, and I also had to get doses for my other dog and my two cats so they didn't pick up the fleas. Especially since the main way other animals get tapeworms is by eating the fleas, while scratching themselves, that have jumped off the animal with tapeworms! Thankfully, Bravecto is amazing stuff and within 15 minutes of giving him the dose, dozens of fleas were climbing to the top of his puppy fur, like rats from a sinking ship, dying as they went. As the weekend went by, Paul was noticeably absent. I will give you a spoiler ? it has been almost four months and he NEVER emailed or called back, not even a small note to express any kind of sadness about how our puppy arrived. In the end, it is very obvious that Paul is an EXCEPTIONAL salesman, and that is it. After he?s closed the sale, he disappears into thin air. Drops you like a hot rock. Come Monday, we went to the vet with our puppy. The vet gave us the results of the exam. We expected to find out he had tapeworms for sure. And it was obvious he had fleas. Two parasites is bad enough, thank you. However, the results of the exam showed he also had giardia and coccidia! This, after just a few days before he traveled the breeder?s vet supposedly ran a clean fecal sample. I call BS on that. A puppy doesn't get a full blown flea infestation, tapeworm infestation, and two other intestinal parasites in the course of a few days. We got him on a round of medication from the vet. I sent in all the exam paperwork to PuppySpot. Their ?Customer Advocates? asked me to follow up with another fecal exam after the medication was done, and to let them know the results. They promised to reimburse me for the expenses. On January 19th, I sent the final fecal exam results (which were negative, thankfully ? giardia can be very hard to get rid of according to our vet) and my vet invoices to PuppySpot. My case was assigned to someone named Andrea. A week went by. Nothing. I sent an email asking for an update. Another week went by, and still nothing. I sent another email. In the meantime, my wife went into the hospital for planned surgery on February 5th. She was discharged on the 9th. While checking voicemails the following morning, on the 10th, she let me know that she had received voicemails from Andrea asking me to send the paperwork with my puppy?s exam info and invoices (which I had already done on January 19th). I figured I?d call her on Monday, but before I could I got an email from her saying that since she was closing the case, I assume because I hadn't responded to her voicemails. Two things ? why was she calling my wife instead of responding to my emails? And, why is it okay for her to go weeks without responding but when I didn't for one week she closes my case? I insisted that it be reopened. On the 12th, just to get things moving, I resent the information to Andrea. She replied right away and said she would be getting back to me later that same week. I was VERY patient and waited two whole weeks, exactly 14 days, before following up. Andrea had never gotten back to me. She finally did on February 28th only to let me know she had no info as my claim was apparently still in review. Wow! Again, I was extremely patient and waited until March 15th to follow up, since I had heard nothing from anyone. I then waited again, until March 26th, another twelve days, before emailing Andrea again. This was now over two months after submitting my paperwork and requesting the reimbursement. Thankfully, that same day I heard back from someone named Waynesha who apologized and let me know that Andrea wasn't with the company anymore?I wonder how long she had been gone?? Anyway, Waynesha was very prompt and helpful and by the end of that day she had processed my claim and affirmed my reimbursement amount. Just a few days later and today I got a receipt of the refund to my card. I am giving PuppySpot the rating that I have because, as you can gather from this whole review 1) they obviously were not doing their due diligence with this breeder 2) their salesman, Paul, was as dishonest as they come, I might even call him manipulative 3) their customer service and response times were horrible until Waynesha finally got involved. If it weren't for the fact that we got the puppy we wanted, and that PuppySpot (finally) made true on their health guarantee by reimbursing for the medical expenses, I would have given a one star review. The bottom line, though, is that I will never use this site for finding a puppy in the future nor will I ever recommend it to anyone I know.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Nicolas - We're sorry for what sounds like a frustrating experience and one that varies greatly from that which we strive to provide our community. We were shocked to learn your puppy arrived not feeling well, as his mandated pre-travel nose-to-tail health examination performed by a licensed veterinarian did not indicate any of the issues your vet found shortly after he arrived home.†Once a customer makes us aware of an issue with a puppy, a health concern has to be opened and the customer is supposed to be contacted within 24-48 hours to touch base. Your Puppy Concierge wouldn't have worked the health concern, as we have a dedicated Health team who have the training and expertise to handle concerns like yours. That said, it is not okay that you had trouble getting in touch with any member of our team or went long periods without an update. That is not reflective of the service we strive to provide or the experience the majority of our customers report having.†Your puppy's breeder passed our thorough, proprietary screening process before joining our exclusive breeder network. That said, we have a Compliance team that is constantly reviewing and visiting our breeder to ensure they continue to meet our standards, and your puppy's breeder is no exception.†We rely on valuable feedback from customers like you to continue to provide our community with a positive experience and we appreciate your candid review. Your relationship with us began, it did not end, when we matched you with your puppy and, despite your apparently frustrating experience with us so far, we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

      03/29/2018
      Jennifer M.
      New York |

      Very Happy!

      My experience was nice and smooth purchasing my shepherd. PuppySpot was upfront throughout the whole process regarding pricing and updating me about my dog. I think people who are reading this should know that pricing can sometimes be higher through PuppySpot because you are paying for convenience and the great service they provide. I mean I literally contacted them more than 5 times with questions and they were helpful everytime. My dog had beautiful markings and I was very pleased overall with my experience.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Jennifer - Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. As you've experienced, our goal is to be the best, not the least expensive, place to find a furry family member and our team takes great pride in what they do.†As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.

      03/29/2018
      Corinne B.
      New York | Breed: Dachshund

      Perfect experience and perfect addition to the family.

      I would recommend any one who is looking to buy a pup and wants a trusted service this is perfect. From the point of buying Nathan to having him home for 2 weeks puppyspot has been there to help, educate and make sure everything went as smoothly as possible.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Corinne -†Thanks for the feedback and adorable picture of Nathan! We're thrilled that Nathan is thriving in his new home and that our team was able to help with a smooth transition. Please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found† Nathan on PuppySpot, so do not hesitate to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

      03/29/2018
      John K.
      Virginia |

      The buying experience was great from beginning to ...

      The buying experience was great from beginning to delivery of my new puppy. After that the follow up has been great also.If I need a new puppy I know who to contact. Thanks JR

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      John -†Thanks very much for the feedback. Your experience is what we strive for, and please remember that our relationship with you began when you found your puppy on PuppySpot. So, you should never hesitate to reach out to us if there is ever anything we can do to help you in your puppy journey.†

      03/29/2018
      Daniel S.
      New Mexico | Breed: Labradoodle

      VeryProfessional

      Very Professional and caring. Helped us find the perfect puppy for our family. Always answers questions promptly via email or phone.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Daniel - Our team takes great pride in matching prospective puppy parents with the right furry family member, so we really appreciate your feedback.†We are here for you as a resource anytime, so please keep us posted on how everything is going and do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there is anything we can do to help.

      03/29/2018
      Neil m.
      California |

      Excellent service at every turn...

      Excellent service at every turn

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Neil - Thanks so much for sharing your experience with PuppySpot.†As you know, we are here for you anytime, so please do not hesitate to reach out to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

      03/29/2018
      Michael A.
      California | Breed: Australian Shepherd

      They were passionate about what they do!...

      They were passionate about what they do!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Michael - We really appreciate your feedback and 'pupdate' on your newest furry family member!†Please continue to keep us posted on how everything is going and never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way.

      03/29/2018
      Edgardo B.
      New York |

      I feel your company reached out more then I expect...

      I feel your company reached out more then I expected to help us with our Puppy purchase.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Edgardo -†As you've experienced, we're more than a service, we're a community and our team will continue to be here for you throughout your puppy parent journey. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can be helpful in any way!

      03/29/2018
      James J.
      New Mexico | Breed: Bulldog

      The Service at puppy spot is amazing. The satff a...

      The Service at puppy spot is amazing. The satff are all nice and very friendly. They are also ready to answer all questions that you have.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      James -†Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with our dedicated team of dog lovers. Please continue to keep us posted on how everything is going and never hesitate to reach out if we can be helpful in any way!

      03/28/2018
      Sarah T.
      Florida | Breed: Boston Terrier

      NOT healthy puppies!!!

      They claim not to get their puppies from puppy mills and guarantee ?healthy? puppies. This is NOT the case!!! My puppy arrived full of Coccidia and Giardia (FYI transmissible to humans). Scary because my puppy was only 2.4 pounds and having uncontrollable bloody diarrhea. He also had demodex, a HEREDITARY condition! So not only did I spend an obsurd amount of money on a sick puppy, but now I am spending hundreds of dollars to treat him. And still have yet to hear back about being reimbursed from Puppy Spot. These breeders are not legit! I would not use them again!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Sarah - First and foremost, our top priority is always the health and well-being of our puppies, period. That is why your puppy came from a pre-screened breeder who met our high standards (PuppySpot has a zero tolerance policy for puppy mills or substandard breeding of any kind), your puppy's breeder followed our mandated health and vaccination protocols, and your puppy underwent an extensive nose-to-tail health exam from a licensed veterinarian ? which he passed ? before our health team cleared him to travel to you. Given that, we were truly just as surprised as you were to learn that your puppy was diagnosed with two common and treatable puppyhood conditions. Despite your comments otherwise, it's exceedingly rare for humans to contract either unless infected feces is ingested.Additionally, we'd like to clarify that demodex are not only treatable but also not hereditary. All dogs have small numbers of demodex mites residing in the skin and that having a few mites is normal and common. Nutritional, environmental or immune-related stresses can cause a flare-up, but luckily, it's easily treatable.As living, breathing beings, as unfortunate as it is, puppies sometimes get sick. And, that is why our service extends well beyond the delivery of a puppy and we have a dedicated health team to help resolve any issues our customers may have. You did the right thing by notifying us as soon as you thought there may be an issue and several members of our Customer Advocate team have been working with you closely to address your concerns and see how we could help. Unfortunately, it's been difficult to get in touch with you, as our team has left several unreturned messages and emails. We always stand behind our puppies and health guarantee with proper documentation and invoices. Our relationship with you has just begun and we will continue to act as a source of support now and throughout your puppy parent journey.

      03/28/2018
      Colleen Sue V.
      California |

      I was hesitant about buying a dog I hadn't met

      Everything went as promised and we love our new puppy!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Colleen -†Thanks very much for your feedback and welcome to the PuppySpot community!

      03/28/2018
      Kelly D.
      Texas |

      They helped me out completely! I enjoyed every sec...

      They helped me out completely! I enjoyed every second with this website and I would highly recommend them to anyone!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Kelly -†Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate it! And, remember, our relationship with you began, it didn't end, when we matched you with your puppy, so please reach out with any questions you have throughout your puppy parent journey.

      03/28/2018
      Elisa B.
      Massachusetts | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

      Puppy had blood very long flight, had blood in sto...

      Puppy had blood very long flight, had blood in stool, dandruff, and a fever. Was told I would be reimbursed for vet costs, am being told to keep providing more documation which was already provided. Just a headache!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Elisa - Thank you for providing us your feedback. Your puppy came from a pre-screened breeder who meet our high standards and followed our mandated health and vaccination protocols. Like all PuppySpot puppies, yours underwent an extensive nose-to-tail health exam from a licensed veterinarian - which he passed - before our health team cleared him to travel to you. Given that, we were surprised to hear your puppy was not feeling well shortly after he arrived. As living, breathing beings, as unfortunate as it is, puppies sometimes get sick. And, that is why our service extends well beyond the delivery of a puppy and we have a dedicated health team to help resolve any issues our customers may have. Our team has been quick to try to not only understand your issue but also see how we can help. Several of those team members are continuing to work to try and turn your experience around and we are disappointed to hear we have been unable to do so thus far. That said, despite your frustrations with us to-date, we always honor our health guarantee with the proper documentation, and our Customer Advocate team is here for you whenever you need them. Your relationship with us began, it did not end, when we matched you with your puppy and, despite your apparently frustrating experience with us so far, we remain committed to nurturing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey.

      03/28/2018
      Vincent O.
      Arizona | Breed: Siberian Husky

      Yes I? would recommend them. Honest and legit....

      Yes I? would recommend them. Honest and legit.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Vincent† - We truly appreciate receiving valuable feedback from our customers. Thanks very much for your kind words and welcome to the PuppySpot family!

      03/28/2018
      Christopher I.
      North Dakota | Breed: Saint Bernard

      The whole process was excellent and very fast. tha...

      The whole process was excellent and very fast. thank you very much to puppyspot for everything.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Christopher - You're very welcome!†Our team will continue to be here for you anytime, so please do not hesitate to reach out to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

      03/28/2018
      Oscar P.
      Texas | Breed: Pomeranian

      I admit I was skeptical prior to going through wit...

      I admit I was skeptical prior to going through with PuppySpot! Something about purchasing a puppy without ever meeting them or seeing their living conditions just rubbed me the wrong way. Long story short, we ended up giving them a try after a botched purchase of a sick Pomeranian elsewhere. My wife was heartbroken so PuppySpot to the rescue right? Right! The process was seemingly smooth and a breath of fresh air. They communicated the entire time and even after picking up my puppy from the airport the breeder made sure I had any questions or concerns answered right away! The pup was and is still in great health and is beautiful. My only complaint is that for such an expensive dog, the breeder should have actually taken her to the vet for her shots. Instead, they do the at home shots from the local feed store. I understand PuppySpot argues that these type of shots are up to standard in most states; however any reliable Veterinarian will tell you not to use them. We had to have her shots all redone appropriately. We don't mind the expense, as we didn't purchase an expensive breed to think that it was going to be cheap moving forward and we want her to have the best care....I just know these breeders can afford to have proper vaccinations for the amount of money they make off of their litters. Other than that, I would definitely recommend PuppySpot to anyone looking for a great companion.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Oscar - Thank you very much for your kind feedback and for trusting us to help you find a furry family member, especially after having such a negative experience elsewhere. From our customary post-arrival communications with you, we're happy your puppy arrived happy and healthy, as that is our top priority. That said, we want to assure you that your puppy's breeder followed our mandated health and vaccination protocols created by our Scientific Advisory Board and Consulting Veterinarian. Breeders are regulated and trained in many aspects including proper handling and storage of vaccines, antibiotics, and supplements, and maintain proper storage, handling, and administration practices under the guidance of their veterinarian and inspections from the state and USDA. These steps ensure breeders have the education behind the same care and diligence of the veterinary field when using vaccines, antibiotics, and supplements. Additionally, breeders attend educational meetings and seminars on all aspects of raising dogs and receive continuing education to stay current with the best medicine and practices just as doctors, EMT's and other healthcare professionals do. Your puppy is now in the care of a vet of your choice and we hope that you were mindful of the respective dates of your puppy's vaccinations marked, as we do not want your puppy to be over-vaccinated. As you know, our relationship began when your puppy arrived home, so please let us know if there's anything you need in your puppy parent journey.

      03/27/2018
      Ann L.
      Wisconsin |

      Great communication and service!

      I felt the communication was very good! I was kept updated on each step of the process and everyone I spoke with was very friendly and helpful.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Ann - Our team works hard to make sure our prospective puppy parents are prepared to welcome home their new furry family member, so we really appreciate your feedback. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything we can do to be helpful.†

      03/27/2018
      Joanne M.
      Florida |

      Happy to have this special puppy!

      My husband is recently retired and this is our first dog after 42 years of marriage. Our puppy concierge helped us select our lovely puppy and now Ginger (formerly JADE) is part of the family. What a joy to have her in our life and the breeder did a wonderful job as our puppy was almost completely potty trained at 10 weeks when she arrived. She is a happy puppy who obviously had a very loving environment before she came to us.