X

      PuppySpot Reviews

      PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
      Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

      4.6 / 5
      Based on 9,201 verified reviews

      9,201 Reviews

      • 5 Stars
        7,193
      • 4 Stars
        1,060
      • 3 Stars
        420
      • 2 Stars
        213
      • 1 Star
        315
      01/08/2018
      Sharon B.
      California |

      Great Service

      I thought the service was great, and I was kept informed during the entire process. I was worried about a 12 week old puppy being shipped from IN to CA, but she was create.

      01/08/2018
      Dyane M.
      Washington | Breed: Boxer

      Happiness beyond words

      I had a wonderful experience with this company. Very professional from the very beginning. Our little girl arrived safely and healthy. We are so very much in love with her that no words can describe our happiness. Our little Ella Mae Fitzgerald has adjusted quite well to her forever home. I have and will recommend you to anyone who's looking for a new pet.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Dyane -†Thanks for the feedback and we are glad Ella Mae exceeded expectations. It means a lot that you've recommended us to others, we truly appreciate it! Please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found Ella Mae on PuppySpot, so do not hesitate to let us know if there is ever anything you need.

      01/08/2018
      Kimberly A.
      California |

      PuppySpot was very professional and kept me inform...

      PuppySpot was very professional and kept me informed during each step of the process. They made my experience of finding my puppy very exciting!

      01/08/2018
      Lance S.
      Vermont | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

      Happy owners and one happy spoiled handsome boy.

      I felt they were very helpful and professional. I don't know what else they do other then ask questions to know if the puppy is goung to be in good hands, but their reassurance on travel and after care is awesome. They are very friendly and helpful.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Lance - Thanks very much for your feedback and adorable picture of your newest furry family member! Just like we thoroughly screen and vet our breeder community, our team is trained to also qualify prospective puppy parents like yourself to ensure our puppies continue to thrive in their new homes. As you know, our team is here for you anytime, so please let us know if there's anything more we can do to be helpful.†

      01/08/2018
      Mark H.
      North Carolina |

      Rudolph with no red rose.

      We're impressed with the thorough way you have handled the entire process. It was most efficient, and everything went smoothly. Our pup is smart. The breeder did a good job pad training him. The fun now is trying to keep up with him!

      01/07/2018
      Christine C.
      Massachusetts | Breed: Maltese

      Sad Christmas in Boston

      I picked up my puppy from the airport on 12/22/17, he flew in cargo on a connecting flight from DFW through Missouri to Boston. The puppy weighed 1.9 lbs. According to my vet which evaluated him less than 18 hrs after he arrived. The dog was gorgeous and stole my heart minute one, the dog threw up and was lethargic upon arrival but I thought it was from the flight. According to my vet, a maltese that delecate should never have been flown that distance, his weight was too little and he was never weined from the mom just ripped away. My puppy had my heart for the 5 days that he was with us, he was my childrens christmas present and he died 2 days after christmas. The dog was filled with parasites, and so sick that when my vet saw him again he died of cardiac arrest in the office. Imagine having to tell your children. We are all still heartbroken. Upon more research of the "breeder" I discovered a laundry list of complaints against them dating back years. I trusted puppyspot as the 3rd party to do the research for me since thats the point of them, big mistake and the biggest mistake is me being so naive and not demanding to know where the puppy came from and doing my research prior to the sale (that would possibly cut puppyspot out of the trio so you dont receive that paperwork until you have the puppy in hand). Needless to my family, my children are heartbroken. So as fsr as customer service is concerned, they were incredibly compassionate. I cried for 45 minutes to James and he just listened in horror. I fought to get my money back and they didnt want to give the shipping, I feel for the "James" of the company, they are compassionate and understanding but they only have so much say...

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Christine - First and foremost, we were (and still are) truly devastated to learn about your puppy's untimely passing. The primary reason we have so many checks in our system pre-travel and provide the ongoing support we do is to ensure the health and safety of each and every one of our puppies. That's why, among other things, we thoroughly screen and qualify each of our breeders, require them to follow our health and vaccination protocols and require health checks before and after a puppy arrives at their forever home. Once our puppies arrive at their homes, we are dependent upon responsible owners to work with us and follow the guidance we and their vets give them.†Like all PuppySpot puppies, yours underwent a mandated nose-to-tail health examination, performed by a licensed veterinarian, shortly before traveling home to you. That exam, which did not indicate he was anything but 100% healthy at the time, was subsequently reviewed by our internal health team, which cleared him for travel. It is also important to note that PuppySpot's travel policies are more restrictive than the airline industry's, especially in the case of small puppies like yours, and that policy is strictly enforced (just as it was with your puppy).†We have thoroughly reviewed the records your vet provided us. And, although you say your puppy was 'filled with parasites,' there is no evidence of those parasites in your puppy's pre-flight health exam or in your vet's records. Instead, what the records indicate is that your puppy was indicating signs of hypoglycemia which is a common but potentially serious issue for small puppies. Because of our concerns about hypoglycemia in small breeds, not only did we send you detailed information about how to minimize the risk of hypoglycemia-related issues with details about how to identify hypoglycemia, but our team also reviewed that information with you over the phone (which is our standard practice for every small breed puppy we place). We also made it very clear that our support team was here to help you with any issues or questions you may have. Unfortunately, you chose not to notify us about your puppy's health condition until after he passed away. Had you notified us sooner, given the symptoms you have subsequently described to us, we would have been very quick to encourage you to take your puppy to an emergency vet right away. That being said, based upon the conversations our health team had with your vet, it is our understanding that your own vet suggested the same course of action (since they were understaffed during the holiday) and you elected not to take your puppy to an emergency vet.†Your situation was tragic and as several of our team members have reiterated to you, we are truly saddened by your puppy's passing. That being said, bashing your breeder (who not only has a history of placing puppies with us without issue, but who was also recently visited by a member of our field rep. team as part of our ongoing compliance program) and making misleading claims about your puppy's health does nothing to help the situation. Despite there being no suggestion in either the breeder's or your own vet's records to suggest your puppy had any congenital, hereditary or infectious issue, we chose to go well above and beyond what we are required to do and to refund you in full (including vet expenses). We did so not because we were required to do so, but because we care deeply about our community members and their experience with us.

      01/07/2018
      Frank B.
      Arizona |

      Caring, professional, very human touch!

      PS staff always kept in touch before, during & after a most enjoyable process made easy.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Frank - Thanks very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with our team. We'll continue to be here for you as you need us, so please let us know if there's anything more we can do to be helpful.†

      01/07/2018
      Jeff R.
      West Virginia | Breed: Bichon Frise

      Pictures of dogs need to be updated to actually pu...

      Pictures of dogs need to be updated to actually pup. Picture on website was completely different then what we got. Although love him just the same a updated picture for the customer to know what they are getting would be appreciated.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Jeff - Thanks very much for your feedback. We regularly update our puppy photos, however puppies grow and change quickly, so it's not unusual for a puppy to change between the time they're selected and when they arrive home. That said, our team is always happy to provide updated pictures and video to prospective puppy parents upon request. We're thrilled to know your puppy is thriving in his new home and look forward to continuing our relationship throughout your puppy parent journey!

      01/07/2018
      Magdalena R.
      Florida | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

      Wonderful experience and great customer service!

      Thank you for helping my family find the perfect dog! I spent hours searching breeders in our state which was very overwhelming and still didn't yield the right match. PuppySpot made it so easy and we couldn't be happier with our new fur baby! Thank you so much!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Magdelena - You are very welcome! One of the amazing things our national network of screened and vetted breeders provides our customers is the peace of mind that they can find the right puppy for their family no matter whether that puppy lives across town or across the country and we appreciate the trust you placed in us to help you find your perfect puppy. Our relationship has only just begun, so please let us know if there's anything more we can do to be helpful in your puppy parent journey.

      01/07/2018
      Marie S.
      Wyoming |

      Yes I would buy from them again. Service is excell...

      Yes I would buy from them again. Service is excellent, pointers are great, very kind and helpful.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Marie - It means a lot that you trusted us to help you fetch your newest best friend and we'd be happy continue to add to your family when the time is right. Until then, please continue to keep us posted on how everything is going and let us know if there's anything you ever need.†

      01/07/2018
      Hardwin K.
      Colorado |

      It's a hassle, but worth it to us!

      We were drawn to this service because we wanted to get a puppy for our children for Christmas and we made this decision in November, which was too late to find one from a breeder. The breed that we wanted sells very quickly and every breeder that I contacted was sold out of puppies and had a 6 month to a year waitlist. Therefore, we were drawn to PuppySpot which had many, adorable puppies even in the color that we wanted (Red) which tends to be more rare to find. The sales process went very smoothly as we chose our puppy. Our sales rep was very patient with us as we had a hard time choosing between the puppies. This was a huge committment and also very expensive, so in order to insure that we got the right dog for our family, we had a lot of questions. That being said, we would have liked to have access to more information about the puppies. The website shows you 3 pictures (and sometimes a video, which we found to be very helpful) of the puppy. The pictures aren't updated frequently, so a picture of a puppy at 4 weeks could still be posted when the puppy is currently 8 weeks old and ready to go home. There is a huge change in the puppy and sometimes the puppy?s coat, depending on the breed in a month. The website also gives you the parents weight. If you want to know what they look like, you have to ask the sales rep for pictures of the parents. Due to the limited amount of information from the PuppySpot website, we found it difficult to not be able to speak to the breeders directly. We wanted to know more about the parents, personality, and the litter, but we had to wait for our sales rep to contact the breeder to ask these questions and then get back to us. At least twice we lost a puppy of interest to someone else, while we were waiting for the breeder to get back to our sales rep with more information for us. But, in the end, it worked out, because a new litter was posted and we found the dog of our dreams! We finally made our decision, acted quickly, and purchased our puppy for a whopping $3,000 (close to double what a breeder would charge--but to us it was worth it for this particular puppy, with no waiting, and at Christmas time.) After we purchased her, we were told that we were not able to call our sales rep anymore now that the sale was final, and that we would be directed to other representatives who handle travel, etc. We soon realized that there are A LOT of representatives at PuppySpot! We received the information for the travel arrangements and everything was going smoothly until the day before we were due to pick up our puppy. We were called by a different rep from the first one setting up travel, and she stated that our puppy had a vaccine reaction and they needed to find out more info before they allowed her to travel. We waited for a short time and were called back saying the breeder?s vet has cleared her for travel, but she did have a rash from the vaccines, and do we still want her? They sent pictures and everything looked normal to us. They said it was mild and that she also had a litter mate who had a reaction. He ended up with a golf ball size lump which prevented him from being cleared for travel. We were relieved that our puppy was okay and went through with the travel arrangements. I spoke to this rep who was handling the vaccine reaction many times. After she got my okay, I never heard from her again, despite attempting to contact her many times afterwards. Our puppy arrived the following day. We picked her up from cargo at the airport. We received a crate, with health papers, and a small zip lock bag of food. She was precious and we fell in love immediately! However, as I picked her up I quickly realized that she had a small, golf size lump on her right shoulder. This was a result of the vaccine reaction. I was expecting a mild rash, not a giant tumor! We took her home and cared for her--the first nights were hard as she cried most of the night. But, within a few days she began to adjust to our home and our family and we started adjusting to her. Her lump, however was not getting smaller. I called PuppySpot the second day to report the lump and spoke to so many different people, I lost count. None of the previous reps responded to my inquiries. I literally spoke to a different rep for each scenario thoughout the process. The only rep that was consistent within our entire PuppySpot experience was the sales rep in the beginning who ended up disappearing once the sale was final. Our vet appointment (within 48 hours) was coming up. By the time we arrived to the vet, the lump had grown from a golf ball size to the size of an avacado--on an 8 week old puppy! I was really worried. We were promised a healthy puppy and we received a puppy with a tumor the size of an avacado, and I couldn't get in touch with one consistent rep to talk to. They all kept saying, let us know what the vet says. The vet said that it was indeed a vaccine reaction and that it was quite common (particularly with cats) however, this was the largest lump he had ever seen on an animal. He told me to put a cold compress on it and wait to see if it went down. He filled out the PuppySpot health form reporting the lump and the size. I immediately sent the form over to PuppySpot. It was several days before I heard anything back. They did eventually contact me asking for more pictures and info from the vet. However, thankfully by this time, the lump started to go down. I told this rep (yet again someone I had never been in contact with) that the lump was getting smaller and we had another appointment with the vet in a few weeks and we would know more then. The rep said, that was great and to contact her after the next vet appoinment. So here we are. We have had our puppy for 3 and a half weeks now. We are all so attached. Her lump has completely disappeared and we couldn't be happier. I would say that if you want the dog of your dreams, don't want to wait, and are willing to pay a lot extra, PuppySpot is an excellent way to make that happen. They even offer finance options, which for many, may be worth it. However, the process is not as smooth as they claim, particularly if something goes wrong. You will talk to many different people in the process, even if it all goes smoothly. Is it worth the giant mark up price? Probably not. But then again, as I look at my precious puppy, currently sleeping on my feet, I would do it all over again in a heartbeat. I am so happy we found her!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Hardwin - We appreciate your honest and detailed feedback about your experience fetching your newest best friend. PuppySpot is comprised of several different teams, from screening and vetting our breeder community, to helping match prospective puppy parents with their newest furry family members, to reviewing health documentation, to coordinating/booking travel and providing lifetime support and guidance. Each of these fields requires a great deal of detail and expertise, of which those who make up each team are trained, educated and in some cases certified to manage, in an effort to provide our customers with the best care and expertise possible. Our goal is to make finding a furry family member easy and we're disappointed to learn that you felt this wasn't the case for you. A member of our dedicated Customer Advocate team has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more and see where our team fell short. Our relationship began, it did not end, when we placed one of our puppies in your home, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything you ever need.

      01/07/2018
      Minerva A.
      New Mexico |

      I love Puppy Spot

      I can't say enough good things about puppy spot. The customer service is excellent, My puppy was just what I expected, the travel for my puppy was perfect. The information given to me about my puppy helped very much, and puppy spot still continues to email me different ways to help me take care of my new family member. I could go on and on, but I?ll stop here by saying... Thank you Puppy Spot!!!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Minerva - You are very, very welcome! Your feedback means so much to us, as your experience is just what we strive to provide our community. As you know, our team is here for you any time, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.†

      01/07/2018
      Shaun G.
      Michigan |

      Wonderful

      Great service...beautiful puppy. Our process was smooth, efficient and Snow arrived a few days before Christmas. She was healthy and a bundle of love. The breeder even sent a Christmas bow on her kennel, a few toys and a leash and collar with her! Unexpected, but it speaks to the care of my breeder. Would highly recommend!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Shaun - Thanks so much for the kind words and absolutely adorable 'pupdate' on Snow! Our breeder community and team of dedicated dog lovers care deeply about all of our puppies and we're thrilled to know your experience reflected just that. We will continue to be here for you and Snow, so please let us know if there's anything you ever need.†

      01/07/2018
      John W.
      New Hampshire |

      Great experience

      Everyone we spoke with made us feel like we were the most important customers. Thank you puppy spot for making this a fun adventure that I would recommend to a friend. - Kelly

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Kelly - Our team works very hard to make sure all members of our community are taken care of, whether they walk on two legs our four. It means a lot that you'd recommend us to others and we look forward to continuing the puppy adventure with you!

      01/07/2018
      Trond E.
      Texas |

      Best palce to buy a puppy

      Excellent experience! Kind and responsible people! They keep in touch all the time during process. Mi puppy is perfect she is cute and fantastic with my kids

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Trond - Thanks so much for your feedback! We're thrilled to know your puppy is thriving with her new family and look forward to future 'pupdates!'

      01/07/2018
      Xiomara V.
      California | Breed: Maltese

      The perfect choice.

      Since the moment I did a research, they were already willing to help me finding the right puppy for me. Their client service is just perfect, my puppy arrived on time, healthy and he is the cutest little thing ever. Puppy Spot sent several email checking to be sure everything was ok and sent the medical record with the puppy. Very very happy of having found out Puppy Spot when I was looking for a Maltese puppy. They are very professional and give all the information you need to make a decision. Cannot be happier.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Xiomara -†Thanks very much for the feedback. Your experience is what we strive for, and please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found your puppy on PuppySpot. So, you should never hesitate to reach out to us if there is ever anything we can do to help you in your puppy journey.†

      01/07/2018
      Catherine R.
      Massachusetts | Breed: Bulldog

      Every time we had a question they called us immedi...

      Every time we had a question they called us immediately.they were willing to work with us so we could have the puppy for Xmas morning. This is a great company.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Catherine -†Thank you for sharing your experience with PuppySpot! As you've experienced, we?re more than a service, we?re a community. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there?s anything we can ever do to be helpful.

      01/07/2018
      Pat O.
      Arizona |

      Puppy Spot. What a treat

      When I first saw Maggie on puppy spot it was love. From the day I made contact with puppy spot until I picked her up at airport they in constant contact with information and knowledge. So much so it was almost overwhelming. What a great job This video is our puppy 4 days after we got her. She?s adjusted very well Thanks everyone at puppy spot !!

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Pat - Thanks so much for trusting us to help you fetch your newest best friend! While it doesn't appear the video you mentioned successfully made it into your review, we fully believe Maggie is thriving in her forever home. Our relationship began when you found Maggie through PuppySpot, so please don't ever hesitate to reach out if there's anything you need.†

      01/07/2018
      Caren D.
      New Jersey |

      Unbelievably wonderful service and experience

      From the first person I spoke to....Matt.....thru the whole experience with your Health Dept...Leanna,,,,,,,,,,,, and your travel department..... and the follow up after Jessie's (now Callie) arrival...and everybody in between.....I have only the best possible things to say about Puppy Spot...the customer contact/emails/phonecalls,,,,,,you are all wonderful and Callie is having a great time in her home. I thank you for all you great people and service

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Caren -†Thanks very much for the kind words! We firmly believe that every company is a direct reflection of its people, so we really appreciate the feedback about Matt and Leana and will proudly share it with them directly. We are here for you as a resource anytime, so please keep us posted on how everything is going with Callie and do not hesitate to reach out to our team if there is anything we can do to help.

      01/07/2018
      Latoya M.
      New York | Breed: Yorkiepoo

      Great Service! Made it so easy. Couldn't have done this without them.

      Amazing service!! I've already recommended it to several of my friends. I spoke to several employees. Everyone was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. My puppy has a medical condition and they already have a claim going for me. As a first time pet owner I think I had more specific concerns and it would have been helpful to have one "new parent" concierge walk me through the entire process...particularly the dense travel document. I felt a little intimidated asking all of my silly questions :) I changed hands quite a bit, and while everyone was helpful, I had to reintroduce myself, retell my story and reiterate my concerns each time. Again, excellent service and would use it again.

      PuppySpot Customer Advocate

      Latoya - Thanks very much for your feedback and for recommending us to others, it really means a lot! As you've experienced, our team is here for you any time and we would have been and still are happy to answer any and all questions you may have - there's no such thing as a 'silly question' to us!†