PuppySpot Reviews

PuppySpot serves you best by putting the health and well-being of your puppy first.
Don't take our word for it, here's what real customers have to say about PuppySpot.

4.6 / 5
Based on 11,669 verified reviews

11,669 Reviews

  • 5 Stars
    8,963
  • 4 Stars
    1,406
  • 3 Stars
    556
  • 2 Stars
    287
  • 1 Star
    457
08/23/2017
David P.
North Carolina | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

Excellent customer service

Completely wonderful experience. Everyone we dealt with answered all of our questions in a very timely manner. From the very first phone call to arrival of our puppy everything went smoothly. We have a wonderful, healthy, new family member. We will deal with puppy spot without question in the future.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

David - Thanks so much for your kind words. Your experience is just what we strive for and appreciate your willingness to come back to us for future furry family members. Please remember that our relationship began, it did not end, when we placed one of our puppies into your home, so don't hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything you ever need throughout your puppy parent journey.†

08/23/2017
Michelle E.
Minnesota | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

Not the best experience

I am still not sure how I feel about the whole experience. I am usually pretty forgiving but some things really bothered me. So I thought I would just list the items that bother me and you can decide for yourself. 1.) Initial agent Pauline was good but stuck to a script. Was unable or unwilling to talk about hip and knee testing - very important in the German Shepherd breed. 2.) They utilized United Airlines for transport. Unfortunately, they sent my puppy to the Cargo area even though I had already checked in and was waiting at the United Desk. 3.) When I received my puppy she was filthy and not in the way I expected. He ears were caked in dirt she had some sort of eye irritation. 4.) They told me she was "feisty" and "hand raised" implying she was confident, socialized with people, and bold. She was the opposite: very timid and scared of people. Now as a 8 week old puppy I could understand not knowing their personality but she was almost 12 weeks when we received her! 5.) Our puppy has an obvious bald spot on her back above her hips the size of a quarter that was not disclosed to us and we do not know what it is from or how long she had had it. This was reported to PuppySpot and they have still not responded. 6.) They have many "affiliates" that will call you wanting you to basically buy stuff but nobody tells you it is optional. For instance, one of these affiliates will tell you it cost $500 to register with the AKC when in actually costs much less but they combine it with a "Welcome package" and sell it as a one item. 7.) It really bothered me that at each step you spoke with a different person versus the same individual throughout the process. I felt like I was being passed around and it bothered me these folks didn't know what was previously discussed. 8.) Last, they told us there was no communication allowed between us and with the breeders and yet the breeder wrote me asking to keep in touch - confusing. Now, given all that I mentioned above, would I give up my puppy - hell no! This is a personal preference as I know some folks would return the animal given the discrepancies. I personally cannot do this but I do not begrudge those who do. She is turning into a wonderful dog (now just shy of 15 weeks old). How much of the above is really under PuppySpots control is up for debate. In the end, I think this is a good service for a first time buyer that does not know anything about buying from a breeder and wants the whole package taken care of for them (Puppy plus registration with exorbitant welcome package of cheap blankets, bed, and bowls, etc...) For me, I felt a little scammed. I know too much to blindly sign on with glee and yet not enough to have caught the "welcome package" scam. I hope the above helps others make a more informed decision and maybe some proactive changes by PuppySpot to improve their service.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Michelle - While we appreciate your feedback, we were concerned to learn you have such a negative view about your experience with PuppySpot and would like to take the opportunity to address your concerns listed in your review. 1.) We're happy to hear you liked your Puppy Concierge and were surprised to hear you weren't able to obtain certain information about your puppy's parents. We absolutely share all health information about our puppies, including OFA certifications on both parents and will certainly look into why this wasn't shared with you to begin with. 2.) United Airlines is one of the leading airlines for safe pet travel, which is why we frequently book travel through them to unite our puppies' with their new families. We advise all of our puppy parents, just as we did with you, to call the airline ahead of time to not only ensure that their puppy's flight is on time, but to also confirm the right location for pickup. That said, there are some things out of our control, like miscommunications with airline representatives regarding where to pick your puppy up, and we're sorry this was the case for you. 3.) We were not aware that your puppy arrived ungroomed and experiencing eye irritation, as you made no mention of either during our customary post-travel communications and there were no issues noted on her mandate pre- or post-travel nose-to-tail health examinations administered by two different licensed veterinarians. Our team is here to assist with any issues, no matter how minor, so you should always feel free to contact us. 4.) Puppies can take some time to adjust to new environments, even at twelve weeks-old, which is still considered quite young. A little bit of patience, love and care will go a long way to help your puppy feel more comfortable in her new home. Again, you should always feel free to reach out to our team for support, even for training and behavioral questions. 5.) We were very surprised to learn your puppy had a spot on her coat, as it was not noted on her pre- or post-arrival reports. That said, you were right to bring it to our attention, and, as we assured you when you notified us, we are looking into the matter. In fact, a senior member of our Customer Advocate team has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more about all of your concerns and see how we can help, but unfortunately, we haven't been able to connect just yet. 6.) PuppySpot is proud to offer each and every new puppy parent complimentary AKC registration or Canine Partners Listing, along with other helpful items like enrollment in AKC reunite, lifetime access to AKC events, and more. Our partner offers several additional optional items for purchase and we apologize for any confusion surrounding the price of these options. We'd be happy to help you return these items for a full refund if you wish to do so. 7.) We understand your frustration surrounding speaking with multiple people throughout your experience with PuppySpot, however this is actually a necessity. We have several crucial teams at PuppySpot, who are all trained to be experts in their field, whether that be our Puppy Concierge team, who is tasked with the important job of matching prospective puppy parents with the right puppy for their family, our Customer Advocate team, who is available to provide lifetime support to our community, our dedicated Health team, comprised of former vet techs working with our consulting veterinarian to carefully review pre- and post-arrival veterinary reports and provide support for any health-related concerns and questions, or our Travel team, who works tirelessly to ensure our puppies arrive safely to their forever homes. 8.) We are always happy to connect our customers with their puppy's breeder, whether that be via conference call prior to arrival, or more directly shortly after arrival, which is why we were surprised to find you thought otherwise, and not surprised at all to hear your puppy's breeder would like to keep in touch with you. When all is said and done, while our main priority is to place healthy puppies into happy homes, our goal is to make sure you're happy, too. As we mentioned above, a senior member of our Customer Advocate department has been trying to get in touch with you to learn more and see how we can help. While we're confident that we'll be able to turn around your concerns, you should never hesitate to reach out to us directly, as our relationship has only begun.

08/23/2017
Loretta P.
North Dakota | Breed: Siberian Husky

Wonderful site

Everyone was very friendly.my questions and concerns were addressed quickly......my puppy is an adorable addition to my family.....would recommend this site to all!!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Loretta - We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with our dedicated team of dog lovers. We're thrilled to hear everything is going so well and very much look forward to future 'pupdates!'

08/23/2017
Bonny B.

Fantastic experience!

They were super efficient, helpful & honest every step of the way and performed beyond what I had hoped for. I just wished I had asked for pics of both puppy parents before the purchase.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Bonny - Thanks very much for your feedback. We would be happy to share photos of your puppy's parents with you now if you'd still like them. A member of our Customer Advocate team will be in touch with you shortly about the matter, but you should never hesitate to reach out if there's anything you ever need.†

08/23/2017
Shirley P.
Florida |

Love my Sampson!

Happy with puppyspot overall. Not happy about an 8 hr flight for him though. He was covered in urine and shellshocked for days. Also was shipped cargo, which I was assured wouldn't happen.

08/22/2017
Christine M.
Illinois | Breed: Labradoodle

Nicholas answered all my questions - contacted the...

Nicholas answered all my questions - contacted the breeder and was able to vett my pup. We plan to have her go into training as a disability dog and so we wanted a little older pup to judge the appropriateness to our needs. thank you all for your help.

08/22/2017
Elias W.
California | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

All the Staff are great and very helpful. Some of...

All the Staff are great and very helpful. Some of the company policies however are not very flexible. (i.e., requiring a wire transfer versus a credit card payment if transport is over 21 days. Requiring a health exam within 2 days, etc. )

08/22/2017
Kari R.
Illinois | Breed: Goldendoodle

I was so nervous to purchase through here. But I c...

I was so nervous to purchase through here. But I can not tell you how smooth everything went! I was so happy with the process and the communication. Abby "Cookie" arrived happy and healthy and has been a great member of our family. The only thing I would improve it their new phone service and prompt have made it more challenging to reach someone.

08/21/2017
Nidia D.
Florida | Breed: Poodle

Puppy Spot has been very helpful and has guided us...

Puppy Spot has been very helpful and has guided us each step of the way.

08/21/2017
Shane H.
New York | Breed: Doberman Pinscher

Very helpful with any questions I had. The whole e...

Very helpful with any questions I had. The whole experience was great. My son really enjoy picking the puppy up at the airport.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Shane - It's a truly special experience to welcome a puppy into one's home and we're honored that you trusted us to help you do so. Our relationship has only just begun, so please don't hesitate to reach out to our team if there's anything we can ever do to be helpful.†

08/21/2017
Gayla R.
Iowa | Breed: Yorkiepoo

Great service and a great puppy that appears to be...

Great service and a great puppy that appears to be healthy and well socialised . The airline also did an excellent job of helping the puppy arrive safe from the breeder. Great communication. Thank you for our newest member of the family.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Gayla - We really appreciate your feedback and that your puppy is settling in well to her forever home. As you've experienced, PuppySpot is much more than a service, we're a community, so don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything you ever need throughout your puppy parent journey.†

08/21/2017
Margaret R.
New York | Breed: Labrador Retriever

Puppy Spot representatives have all been very help...

Puppy Spot representatives have all been very helpful and friendly. They supplied us with all the information we needed to receive our new puppy. Our puppy arrived safe and sound with everything that was promised to us. We could not have asked for a better puppy. He is so very loveable, an excellent disposition and has fit in extremely well to our family and gets along well with our daughters dog. We could not have asked for anything better. The breeders that raised our puppy are top notch, our Vet even commented on how well taken care of that the puppy was. I would absolutely encourage people to use puppy spot and we would use them again.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Margaret -†Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback with PuppySpot. Your experience is what we strive for, and †we are so pleased to hear your puppy is thriving in his new home! Please remember that our relationship with you began, it did not end, when you found your puppy on PuppySpot. So, you should never hesitate to reach out to us if there is ever anything we can do to help you in your puppy journey.

08/21/2017
Alexander I.
Florida | Breed: Yorkshire Terrier

Very knowledgeable and customer service is awesome...

Very knowledgeable and customer service is awesome

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Alexander - Thanks very much for your feedback and welcome to the PuppySpot community!

08/21/2017
Gayle G.
New York | Breed: Maltese

My recent experience with Puppy Spot was fantastic...

My recent experience with Puppy Spot was fantastic. Given I have never done anything like this before they were patience and understanding as well as extremely informative. I highly recommend them.....

08/21/2017
Diane C.
Washington | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

Excellent service from start to finish. Our puppy...

Excellent service from start to finish. Our puppy was flown across the USA from one coast to the other. He arrived in great condition!

08/21/2017
Diana H.
Florida | Breed: Poodle

Thanks for sending me a happy puppy in only a week...

Thanks for sending me a happy puppy in only a week's time. Also, thanks for the follow-up calls.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Diana -†We truly appreciate receiving valuable feedback from our customers. Thanks very much for your kind words and welcome to the PuppySpot family!

08/21/2017
Mark C.
Tennessee | Breed: Boxer

I thought Puppy Spot did a fantastic job coordinating the purchase and ship

I thought Puppy Spot did a fantastic job coordinating the purchase and shipment of my boxer puppy. I have named him Tidus Ti and he is an awesome puppy. I was sent a copy of all of his immunizations when I received my puppy at the airport and all AKC paperwork has been completed. My puppy received a clean bill of health from my local veterinarian. This was a very positive experience and I have recommended Puppy Spot to all of my friends. Sincerely Dr. Mark E Clark Johnson City, TN

08/21/2017
Liane S.
Arizona | Breed: German Shepherd Dog

amazing

The made it so simple every step was excellent no stress everything was handled perfectly very smooth transition would highly recommend to anyone looking for a new puppy would definitely do it again

08/21/2017
Kim S.
California | Breed: French Bulldog

Very easy to work with.

Informative and easy to work with. Made the purchase of our puppy very easy.

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Kim - Thanks so much for your feedback. As you know, our mission to make lives better by placing healthy puppies into happy homes and we're thrilled to hear we succeeded in doing just that. Please keep us posted on how everything is going and don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful.†

08/21/2017
Terrika H.
District of Columbia | Breed: French Bulldog

I will trust puppyspot with my puppies

From the first phone call to our puppy coming home, puppy spot was there with answers and reassurance. We were really skeptical due to reviews of others but we will highly recommend puppy spot again. Phone calls, voicemails, and even emails all were answered in due time. We will choose puppyspot again!

PuppySpot Customer Advocate

Terrika -†We really appreciate your feedback and the trust you placed in us to help you add a furry family member to your home. We're not sure which reviews may have caused you concern, as we have 2000+ positive reviews listed here from real PuppySpot families, collected by a trusted third party platform on our behalf. As you have experienced in your interactions with our team, although the internet may have led you to us, with more than 200 employees focused on our mission to make lives better by placing healthy puppies into happy homes, we are much more than a website. Our relationship with you began, it did not end, when your puppy arrived, so please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to be helpful in the future.